KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Configuration Management, yay

leave a comment »

I have an adore/disgust relationship with StarTeam. It’s the version control software that we use to manage our software. Sometimes I feel like I’m really grooving with it. It helps me – I get that safe feeling of having backed up all my newly tweaked code, I can go back to a certain time of day last week, labeled or not, and recover a configuration that someone has somehow completely trashed (it’s never my doing, never ever), but on other days it makes me crazy. Like when someone in my group, let’s blame it on an inexperienced co-op, changes the default working folder on every folder (half their fault, half bad GUI), or when it takes 10 minutes to load and I know it’s going to take another 10 minutes to update status, which it should do automatically.

Written by Kat

November 6, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Posted in Work

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

