KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Robert Jordan’s unfinished work

with one comment

I thought it was perhaps because I was not on the main-land (N. America) that I missed the news, but I’ve talked to a few of my book-loving friends and it seems the news of Robert Jordan’s death was not publicized as much as I would have thought. He died back in September of primary amyloidosis, anyone who watches House would have heard of this term, which is a rare disease.

His most famous series, The Wheel of Time, is a massive fantasy saga publish by Tor Books, with a total of 11 books published of the 12 book series. The first in the series, The Eye of the World, was released in 1990 and with each book over 700 pages, this series is not a small undertaking; but it is adored by many sci-fi and fantasy fiction readers. I do love fantasy and science fiction but my reading is all over the place so I stopped reading this series at book 5, the intention being I’d read the entire series when it was complete. So the kicker, you’ve already guessed I’m sure, the series isn’t finished! He was working on book twelve at the time of his death.

He did make plans, and actually blogged to his readers during his illness, which I think warrants much respect. The last book, with the working title A Memory of Light, is to be finished using his notes, and published sometime in 2009.

Written by Kat

December 2, 2007 at 3:01 pm

Posted in Books

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    sandrar

    September 10, 2009 at 3:56 pm


Leave a Reply

