KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Book Review – The Thief Lord

with 2 comments

The Thief Lord
Cornelia Funke

This is my first read by this author, and I can see why she’s quite famous for writing for children. It’s a story of two brothers who have run away after the death of their mother because their aunt only wants to adopt one of them. They go to Venice, Italy, a place their mother loved. Once there, they meet some others and the story progresses. The Thief Lord does well in creating a mood, and a feeling for the city of Venice. I’ve wanted to visit and I’d like to go there even more now. I read part of an interview yesterday where Funke said that Venice, the city itself, could be considered the main character of this novel. I can understand why, the characteristics of the city are integrated into most scenes of the book. All of the characters are likable though, while all being very different. Funke also said that she spent some time doing social working, which I’m sure helped quite a bit for this work. I would say that I never escaped into this book, but that’s okay. It is a story, and it’s a good one. I think children would really love this tale, and if I had children, this would be a great pick.

Written by Kat

December 9, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Posted in Books

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have not read this one as it didn’t really call to me… I did read Inkheart and Inkkspell (which I apparently did not write about :)) though and I really liked them.

    Cat

    December 11, 2007 at 2:49 am

  2. Came through to this post through the Related Links section on my blog.

    I quite liked this book, and I must say that I enjoyed it just a little bit more than the Ink series

    Good review 🙂

    Nish

    November 10, 2009 at 7:11 am


Leave a Reply

