KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Slow news day

leave a comment »

Or at least slow blog day.  Seems my usual blogs are low on posts the last week.  Or maybe I’m just experiencing the general after-Christmas-lull.  I don’t mind it, the quietness seems to fit the middle of January quite well.

Stolberg greeted Dan and me with rain upon our return, I’d expect nothing less, guess I’ve gotten used to the weather here.  There is no point being annoyed by it, even if you are at the end of a cross-Atlantic flight that you didn’t sleep on and you can’t find any place on the train to put your luggage so you are standing over it, hoping it won’t topple into the space of other German passengers on their way to work. It’s just how it goes sometimes.

I’m currently reading The Gathering by Anne Enright.  I had a hard time picking a book to read next, maybe because of the new influx of reading options, but I read the first few pages of 4 or 5 books before settling on this one.  I figured I needed something more literary after my last strand of fun books.  I’m pretty sure this book isn’t my cup of tea as they say, but I picked it up because it won the 2007 Man Booker Prize, it looked like something that I wouldn’t normally get into, and I happened to low on books at the time.

So our latest tv persuasion is Grey’s Anatomy.  I’m not sure what to say about this series. We’ve been watching them straight through, which is an awesome thing to get to do, you just have to wait until the 4th or so season and then get them all and watch as much as you want whenever you want.  My previous contact with the show is limited but I know many of the girls I worked with in Tampa liked it so I figured it was good.  I must say it’s been a little disappointing here and there.   The characters and their actions, especially since they are surgeons, are very very questionable.  It’s one of those shows where you have to turn off part of your brain and just go with the story.  But let me say this, no matter how many brain compartments I turn off, I will not care which guy Meredith ends up with.  

Written by Kat

January 19, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Posted in Life, tv

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

