KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Still trying to form my ideas

with one comment

about what the personal blog world is really about.

I can tell you, from my experiences alone, that what you see on a person’s personal blog in no way reflects their actual life.

I don’t talk about my work on my blog. I don’t talk about serious, more personal matters on my blog. I don’t talk about my boyfriend as much as I’d like to, because I know no one, besides him maybe, wants to hear how lucky I feel to have him in my life. And when I read other personal blogs, I feel potential friendships there, but big holes, because I know there is much that if you talked to a person face to face, or even email or chat, that you would “catch on” about them, but that just doesn’t come across in a blog. So maybe I don’t understand the point of a personal blog. It sorta kinda provides a person with a support group, but it sorta kinda doesn’t because you leave out alot of details in a blog post. You get a lot of readers (maybe) but maybe much less comments. Maybe a blog is just more about random snippets of a persons life, made generic enough to post so that anyone in the world with internet access can view it???

Blogs about specific things, non-personal, make much more sense. Sports blogs, book blogs, cooking blogs, programming blogs. They are more of a resource, a forum, for people looking for information, reviews, or opinions about specific things.

Maybe personal blogs are just around for a simple reason – they let you express yourself. Maybe that’s all there is to it.

Written by Kat

February 24, 2008 at 5:51 pm

Posted in Life

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very well said

    Julie

    February 25, 2008 at 3:09 pm


Leave a Reply

