KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Work rumors

leave a comment »

about reorganizations or lay-offs – it’s as common at the office as keyboard lint.

The last two months it was the reorganization – old managers with new titles, new departments with different objects and goals, until the next round of new objectives and goals is conspired. My favorite part is when they tell you nothing will change for you personally. Hmm… okay. Anyway, slight change of pace for this month – it is lay-offs.

I don’t really get aweary from this talk, mostly because I know that I can’t do anything about it. And sometimes it’s necessary for business. But I do get tired (almost instantaneously tired) of the worried talk, the worried faces of my co-workers. It sucks having these worries hanging over your head. The whole fear is the only thing to fear comes to mind.

Seems the big talk the last couple of years is outsourcing work to cheaper places. I would blog about this, but I’m honestly tired of talking/hearing about it. We should outsource unpleasant conversations, there’s a grand idea:

Dear India branch,

Please gather your workers into groups of 6 – 8 employees for multiple short meetings. The groups should mainly consist of your middle-aged employees with a sprinkling of newly hired, the more nervous and scared the new hires, the better. The purpose of these meetings is to discuss intricacies of why outsourcing works for some things and not others but how in general it’s ruining everything. Variations on the theme are welcome.

Don’t worry about reporting back the results or how soon you can get this done, it’s more of an open-ended item this time.

We’ll get in touch next week, I have a phone call I’d like you to make to with my tax advisor about why I don’t have all my receipts and paperwork together from last year.

Thanks.

Written by Kat

March 13, 2008 at 10:49 pm

Posted in Life, Tech, Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

