KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Bake-a-thon

with 3 comments

Okay, so my “after work” activities might suggest that I’ve fallen from the health kick I started a couple of months ago.

By activities, I mean I’ve been baking more than usual.  Two co-worker friends from Montreal came into town, seemlingly for their birthdays, (not really, they came here to work) but I’ve been making CUPCAKES – for two weeks now.  What can you say – sometimes people need their birthday cake!

Plus I made some muffins for D last weekend (when he goes away on business trips I like to make sure he brings something healthy for the road).  So ummm yeah, getting lots of input/output from the oven!

It also gave me the opportunity to work on perfecting my vanilla cupcake recipe.  The last batch I made – basic vanilla cupcakes with lemon zest filled with raspberry jam, cream cheese frosting and a fresh raspberry on top was easy and beautiful.

My 2 week baking binge concluded today (I promise!) with some really great, if I do say so myself, AND healthy buckwheat muffins.  I love buckwheat for some reason.  It’s earthy and yummy at the same time.

Did I learn anything worth sharing from all this baking? Yes, maybe a few things:

  • Try to avoid weeknight baking starting at 10 p.m. (like I tend to do).  I ended up finishing around midnight waiting for the cupcakes to cool before icing them  Oh la la, life is so harsh. 😉
  • First ever experience with piping icing. It’s actually easy (I approached with some trepidation) – use a large opened tip for cupcake frosting unless you are trying to draw or create small details.
  • I found a blog called Joy the Baker; I enjoyed her 101 advice on cream cheese frosting.

D and I watched Stranger than Fiction last night, which incidentally had a baker in the story.  It was good, though hard to describe without giving away plot but it’s definitely an atypical Will Ferrell movie, not that I don’t like typical Will Ferrell movies!  We just watched Semi-Pro (Will Ferrell goes NBA) recently too, and laughed alot.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

Written by Kat

June 29, 2008 at 12:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooh! Those cupcakes sound delish! However, I think your advice on NOT starting at 10PM has merit, unless of course you’re a night person, or you know, a vampire. 🙂

    I saw Stranger than Fiction some time in the winter and it wasn’t bad. Not as great as I had hoped, but I loved the Maggie Gsomethingorother character. Baking and tattoos! How could I not? 🙂

    Cat

    June 29, 2008 at 2:57 pm

  2. You’ve been making cupcakes for the past two weeks? Wowza! That’s quite a love of cupcakes. I bet they were ultra-yummy, though! 🙂

    Zandria

    June 30, 2008 at 1:31 am

  3. Cat – I completely agree about Stranger than Fiction – the girl was the coolest thing going on in this movie.

    Zandria – yeah, crazy huh? I didn’t bake every night for two weeks, it just felt that way!

    Kathybou

    June 30, 2008 at 9:02 am


Leave a Reply

