KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

@ Gym

with 3 comments

So it was more than warm yesterday.  It wasn’t quite sweltering, I grew up in an armpit (aka Florida), but it was damn hot here yesterday.  And the thing is, this part of Germany doesn’t seem to get hot very often.  So it’s not really equiped for it.

Two years ago the building where I work got central a/c so at least at work we’re lucky there.  At the gym… not so much.  The windows were all open, but it was just as humid and warm outside – not good when you are sweating before you start an sort of activity.  Anyway, I emerged an hour or more later very very sticky.

I am really enjoying weight-training, which I’m taking more seriously than I ever have before. In the past I’ve always regurgitated what I’d read in magazines –

I don’t want to build muscle, I just want to tone.

Anyone else agree this is just a line of crap??  I know that for me, getting muscles, getting stronger, is a far better payoff (and the whole looking more tone comes right along with the muscles).

That’s not to say that I don’t have a LONG way to go, but I do notice a difference. I can sling around 20 kg (45 lb) weights with more ease.  I can do alot more push-ups.  My lower body has always been relatively strong due to sports/biking/roller blading/etc… and it might actually be less in shape at the moment since I’m not doing any sport leagues right now, but overall I would say I’m getting stronger.

The one thing that hasn’t gotten any lighter?  A big heavy door between my room (of cubes) and the next.  Seriously… you’d think some weight-lifting would help a girl out.

And this leaden door is right near the coffee machine so a bunch of people are always there –  there to witness me pulling with most of my weight to wrestle the door open merely wide enough to slip through.  Any grandeur that I’m getting buffy goes poof.

Written by Kat

July 31, 2008 at 8:48 am

Posted in fitness

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Completely agree. It’s bull. I would love to be muscle-y but I’m too lazy to achieve it. lol

    sassymonkey

    July 31, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  2. Well, you know I agree with you on THAT — the whole “I just want to tone” thing is for the birds! 🙂

    Zandria

    August 3, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  3. I SO agree with you. Muscle is good, and since women can’t bulk up like men even if they wanted to, there’s no reason to worry about too much muscle.

    veredd

    August 6, 2008 at 7:23 pm


Leave a Reply

