KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Experiment in the kitchen

with one comment

I don’t have any Nitrous acid and my beaker/Bunsen burner is packed away.

But I found a cookie recipe that seemed to call to my inner scientist: 1 cup of peanut butter, 1 cup of sugar and 1 egg = PB cookies?  Seems unlikely to be a good cookie right?

I decided to go the way of  Myth Busters and make them.  I’m nothing if not up for an experiment.  Let’s use the scientific method – it’s fun:

1.  Define the question

Is the 1-1-1 recipe for PB cookies valid?

Possibly part of the recipe got forgotten?  Or a cookie-crazed baker’s desperate act?

2.  Gather information and resources (observe)

Okay, after digging around the internet, I have found at least two sources for this recipe:

3.  Form hypothesis

I think there must be something good enough about this recipe that I find it in multiple places.

It doesn’t hurt that the recipe is gluten free, but I’m not certain these will taste very great.

I predict that something cookie-shaped, and tasting like PB will come out of the oven.

4.  Perform experiment and collect data

Procured (from the pantry) the following items:

  • 1 cup peanut butter (pick your favorite)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 egg

Baked at 325 for 8-12 minutes.

5.  Analyze data

After waiting the mandatory 30 seconds, I put one of the 1-1-1 experiment batch#001 samples into my mouth.  See Figure-1.

Observer D did the same a few minutes later.

Figure-1.  PB cookies Batch#001

Yummy.

Crispy on day 1.  More soft and chewy on day 2 but still crunchy.

6.  Interpret data and draw conclusions that serve as a starting point for new hypothesis

I think a graph or something would normally be included here.  For the cookie experiment, that feels a bit much.

The fact that my boyfriend ate them vigorously, and that I liked them too equates to a valid recipe.

7.  Publish results

Uh hem… done.

8.  Retest (frequently done by other scientists)

Feel free!   They really are good.  I was surprised.

Written by Kat

August 12, 2008 at 8:51 pm

Posted in Food

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sounds good! I like recipes with very few ingredients.

    veredd

    August 14, 2008 at 12:16 am


Leave a Reply

