KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Little things

with one comment

I’ve not made this blog an indepth resource for someone who is moving to Germany, or Europe, and needs practical information.  Lots of plausible reasons for this:

  • I’m not practical
  • I’d bore everyone (including myself)

Sometimes it the little things that are interesting though.

When we first got to Germany, well about one week after being in the country, D and I went to visit the company’s HR representative.  She scared the hell out of us actually, because she was sorta shrugging her shoulders about whether or not we really would receive work permits. Ummm, kinda late to be voicing concerns about this?!?!  Anyway, we were going over some paperwork and what office we needed to visit first for this or that, and so on.  At one point she was writing phone numbers and addresses down for us and the sheet of paper looked sorta like this:

1's not 7's

So I’m thinking to myself, “Wow, that number one she wrote looks alot like a seven.  She really has unique handwriting.”

A short time later I realize it’s not her, it’s everyone.  Everyone writes their 1’s like tipsy 7’s.  And you know that dash that some people incorporate into their sevens? Everyone does this here, thankfully.

Oh, and something useful too, 112 is the German/French equivalent to 911.

Written by Kat

November 6, 2008 at 12:13 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] November 26, 2008 I wrote a few weeks ago about how Germans write numbers.  It got me to thinking how I’ve changed my own handwriting during different […]


Leave a Reply

