KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

A conversation about vampires

with 2 comments

My dear mother has introduced me to two vampire series and a third I blame on my youngest sister.

I don’t get to read, or maybe I should say I don’t allocate the time to read as much as I’d like, but I am slowly working my way through series I’ve inherited or been gifted.  There should really be a new genre for vampiric action novels with a female lead – there are definitely enough books out there.

The 3 I’ve been reading over the last year or so:

All these books are on my book shelf right now, and since I don’t really keep books, it seems very disproportionate to any other genre I’m reading currently.

Last week, as I was explaining part of book 3 of the Southern Vampire Mysteries:

Boyfriend: “So is this the one with the lesbian vampire?”

Me (trying to figure out what he means): “No, that’s the Rachel Morgan series.  The main character there is Rachel, but she is a witch.  She’s the one who roommates with a vampire that wants to jump her bones.”

Boyfriend: “Okay.  Is this the movie that we’re going to see this month?”

Me:  “No, that’s Twilight.  The Southern Vampire Mysteries is with Sookie, she’s from Louisiana, thus the southern part.  There is a show on HBO based on it though.”

Me:  “The main character in Twilight is a teenage girl in high school that has vampires that attend too. Rachel is like a private detective.  Sookie is the waitress that can read minds.”

Boyfriend: “So is this the one with the lesbian vampire?”

Written by Kat

November 8, 2008 at 10:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love, love, love Kim Harrison’s series. LOVE THEM! I love them so much I even bought the last book in hard cover (and will give that away when I buy the mass market for my series) and will be doing the same for the next one in March. 😉

    I have never tried the books by Charlaine Harris but I always look at them suspiciously when I see them in the store. I *almost* tried them this month, but when I was wandering around the tiny store I was in and came up with the idea they didn’t have book 1 – only 2, 3 and the latest. Humph!

    I love that conversation you had with your boyfriend though.. Haha! My husband read the entire Rachel Morgan series in a week this summer and loved them. Twilight he’s two books into and can’t stand it (I don’t blame him, I only liked the first one).

    Cat

    November 8, 2008 at 11:31 pm

  2. Yes, between the three, I would say Rachel is my fav, then the Southern Vampire Mysteries. If you ever get low on books they are definitely a good choice. Sookie’s “boyfriends” have more character development than Rachel’s ever had(so far).

    I think the cover art for the series is bad though, and now they are starting the tv series covers – which I always get annoyed by – oh well.

    Kat

    November 13, 2008 at 12:11 am


Leave a Reply

