KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Shopping lighter

with 2 comments

I just had a conversation with my mother this evening about how we should not “go crazy” on gifts this year.  I think she was already thinking similarly because she immediately agreed.   It’s not really that the economy has hit us hard, luckily, but just a general feeling that we’ve overdone it a little in the past.

The same thing goes for other side.  D’s sister has been talking with him about a budget, which we are all going to adhere to this year.   It also avoids a potentially dangerous phenomenon:

Other families or groups of friends  that don’t have small children to buy for, are doing gift exchanges. Each person randomly draws one name and has only one nicer present to buy.   It saves everyone time and money.

I’m not quite ready yet to not buy everyone a gift, but I did hear recently about a principle for gift giving. Some are crediting it to the Victorian era; I couldn’t verify from where it comes but it goes like this:

– Something you want
– Something you need
– Something to wear
– Something to read (or do)

Great idea?  I really like it, I added the (or do) on the last line since  not everyone likes to read.

Written by Kat

November 17, 2008 at 11:44 pm

Posted in family, holidays, shopping

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my god! I totally want someone to get me a pig for Christmas! Hahahaha! That would be awesome!

    Cat

    November 18, 2008 at 12:09 am

  2. My boyfriend’s family is doing the gift exchange thing this christmas but my family will carry on as normal. My boyfriend and I will be at work this christmas because it’s part of our normal roster and I don’t want to take time off for the exhausting ritual of driving to everybody’s houses for shindigs every single day. We’ll have a christmas shindig at our own house before we go to work.

    maja

    November 18, 2008 at 2:18 am


Leave a Reply

