KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Wii Fit, for a bit?

with 4 comments

I know this it isn’t exactly the holiday spirit, and I don’t mean to sound hum-bugish, but I do seriously wonder how many people, that bought or were gifted Nintendo Wii Fit hardware and game, are actually still using it.

The Wii Fit and balance board had been wildly popular in the USA since it’s release in May and will be a very popular gift item this Christmas.

Recently, in Forbes, Nintendo of America president Reggie Fils-Aime states:

“With Wii hardware, I think we’ve got a good shot at meeting demand during the holidays. With ‘Wii Fit,’ I know we’ll fall short. That’s a product we have consumers lining up for each morning outside of our Nintendo World store.”

But are people still playing the game and using it as an exercise tool months after?

I found some interesting, though maybe unsurprising, responses to this very question on LiveJournals girl gamer’s forum.

A user who bought the Fit is still going strong at the 2 month mark, but is concerned it may grow repetitive:

“I’ve had mine for almost two months now and I try to use it every day. I’m also getting close to reaching my first weight goal, which really excites me. Of course, it’s not Wii Fit alone that is doing it all, I’m working on changing my diet quite a bit, but it is the main exercise that I do (besides walking up stairs instead of taking the escalator).

Obviously, I haven’t had it as long as some people, but I don’t expect that in two more months things will have changed (I hope not). The only real complaint I have is that it does get a bit monotonous and I wish a few of the activities had more variation (mainly the step aerobics).”

Some said they got bored because the work-out wasn’t challenging enough:

[…] “While most people said they got off it each day with aching muscles I never felt that at all, it just wasn’t challenging enough for me. I like it and keep planning to try again but the breaks between each exercise while selecting things are too long and break what could have been a good rhythm”[…]

Another comment was that while they don’t use the Fit regularly anymore, it did help with better balance:

“Well, when I first got the game when it came out, I played it quite regularly.
The only benefit I really got from it was an improved balance (seriously, my balance was appalling), but as far as weight loss… not so much. Now I do other exercise, so I haven’t played it for months.”

Another Wii Fit owner uses it off and on again:

“I used it every day for the first month, and then I got lazy and kept pushing “I’ll work out tomorrow~” and ended up neglecting it for almost 2 months. I’m back on it every day now, though.”

All of this reminds me of people talking about going to the gym doesn’t it?

I love the idea of game systems going in interactive directions.  And giving people alternate ways to exercise at the same time they are having fun, awesome.  Even so, I’m hoping that the people at Nintendo are thinking up new ways of keeping everyone moving, after the fad wears off.

What about you?  Do you have a wii Fit, and still play?  Do you want one?

Written by Kat

November 22, 2008 at 1:31 am

Posted in fitness, Fun

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No I don’t have one. The social club bought one for the wii at work (on a minesite) but it hasn’t been set up yet. I think we’re going to try to set it up in the squash court and have sessions a few times a week.

    My father in law bought wii fit for my mother in law, not realising that she needed the wii to use it. That was funny! They now have a wii to go with it as well.

    maja

    November 23, 2008 at 11:55 am

  2. Yeah, I’ve heard of people having Wii parties… would be interesting to see if Wii Fit parties is feasible. I hope Nintendo releases more games that can use the balance board.

    That’s pretty funny about buying the game without the console. Sounds like something my grandmother would do. hehe.

    Kat

    November 24, 2008 at 12:34 pm

  3. Hello Wii fit users! I got the Wii fit when it came out in May. I love it! It has really improved my balance I see my posture being much better. I feel I get a really good workout with this. Just like anything you get out of it what you put into it! I just ordered the Jillian workout game. I am really looking forward to getting it. I am hoping Jillian will kick my but like she does with the players on the Biggest Looser. I will let you know how it is. If anyone has tried it let me know what you think.

    lgifford01

    November 24, 2008 at 1:19 pm

  4. Got the Jillian Michaels work out for the Wii for Christmas. I really like it. She gives you a great work out. You have to give it a try

    lgifford01

    January 9, 2009 at 4:33 pm


Leave a Reply

