KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Short week

with one comment

For all you United Stations.  I’d say I’m jealous, but that’s kind of obvious.  Though I’m not getting any turkey this year, I heard that this year Thanksgiving on my mom’s side is going to be at my grandmother’s, and on my dad’s at Uncle Fred’s, per usual.

Don’t worry about the economy on Thursday, D and I will be working and holding down the fort for y’all.

This week at work has been kinda strange for us here too.  It’s been feeling holiday-lax around here on my project even though there’s no free days until right before Christmas.  Maybe everyone hit the Christmas market a little too hard over the weekend – it opened on Friday in Aachen and runs until December 23rd.

For those who haven’t heard about Germany’s Christmas markets – it’s one of their premiere festivals, dwarfed only by the Oktoberfest events in Bavaria in the Fall.   I may not get the beer and sausage thing, but I do get into Christmas so it’s a nice time.  Here’s a picture from us at the market last year:

We were freezing out butts off but we were drinking hot German spiced wine called Glühwein, which really does chase away the cold.  The boot glasses we’re holding up are part of the tradition.  Cute no?

Other than the wine you can find Christmas ornaments and touristy type gifts and all kinds of festival food – pastries and fried potatoes and sausages, candy, chocolate, and gingerbread, etc, etc…

I went again on Friday for a quick visit with a coworker who was leaving last Sunday and wanted to check it out.  What’s amazing is that the market is open everyday from now until just before Christmas.  It’s a big tourist attraction and I’ve heard more than once that the Aacheners are happy when the market starts and equally happy when it ends.  It’s alot of congestion for the downtown area I guess.

Written by Kat

November 25, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Posted in Fun, holidays, Work

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Our German Christmas market is being built this week, as part of the Winter Festival.

    edinburghlook

    November 26, 2008 at 12:07 am


Leave a Reply

