KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Handwriting

leave a comment »

I wrote a few weeks ago about how Germans write numbers.  It got me to thinking how I’ve changed my own handwriting during different phases.

When I was in 2nd or 3rd grade I decided I wanted to write the number two with a loop, something like this:

This phase didn’t last long, but it was unique enough that one of my unsigned math tests was matched to me, which is good because it was between me and another student and there was only one test.

Later on I decided I wanted to make my lower case ‘A’ like a type face:

This way of writing my a‘s lasted for at least a couple of years.  I eventually got out of it, I think I decided it was wasting too much time when taking notes in class, something like that.

I also recall one of my friend’s went through a long phase of dotting her i‘s with small circles instead of points:

Girly, right?  I think this was the look she was going for then.

A little later in high school plenty of people were practicing their mother’s or father’s name, or [cough] signature.  Only for unsigned permission slips of course.

What about you?  Any handwriting evolution or major modifications along the way?

Written by Kat

November 26, 2008 at 10:51 pm

Posted in Fun

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

