KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Holidays a coming

with one comment

This post’s title was originally ‘Midweek’. But that didn’t happen.

We had the work Christmas dinner Tuesday night last week.  Nice restaurant, okay buffet food.  Beer flowed freely, but Germans in general, drink large quantities of beer, in general.  Thus there was no resulting silliness or rowdiness to be found.  Probably a good thing since it was a work function.  It was a l-o-n-g dinner.  And we got there late and they were still setting up the buffet area.  Dinners like this are better when there is more mingling but the place was not really set up for that. D was exhausted from his work trip, poor guy, so it was even worse on him.

We have all holiday travel  plans set as of last Wednesday.  We popped into the Europcar in town, on the way to work.  Renting a car for 1 day(24 hours), to get ourselves and our luggage to the Dusseldorf airport on time next Thursday, will run us 60 Euro.  Plus maybe 15 Euro for gas.  It’s not less expensive than the taxi/train, which is ~45 Euro, but it is much more convenient.  Our flight on Thursday is later this year too, we don’t depart Düsseldorf until 11:30 a.m., last year we had to wake up at 4:00 in the way too early.

We are going to spend two days in St. Petersburg (FL) at my Grandmother’s.  I hope the weather is nice, if so we might go to the beach Friday.  I always have ideas of what we could do ‘in my stomping grounds’ but the reality of one free day means we should  keep it simple. There is already a family get-together planned for Saturday, the 20th.  Then we go to my mother’s, about 1.5 hrs north of Tampa, for the week before Christmas.  My aunt and uncle are staying at my mother’s, and both my sisters too, so it’s going to be a full house.

On the Saturday after Christmas we fly to Quebec to see D’s parents and his family.  I hope there is snow. I know it’s a pain, but it’s so  beautiful, especially at Christmas.  There is a family party planned by D’s mother at his father’s business in Beauce.  Beauce, for those who aren’t familiar, is region of small farming towns about 1 hour south of Quebec city.  Small towns in the true sense of the word, which strangely, makes it all the more intriguing.

It’s already Sunday.  Where did the weekend go?  It always happens like that – you are excited about something and then all of the sudden it sneaks up on you.

I should do some pre-packing planning today if I can get motivated. We’re going to be gone for 3 weeks and I need to limit myself to one large (not XL) suitcase.  To be fair, I’ve gotten damn good at packing – D and I have been doing it semi-consistently for quite some time now. But I still get a little lazy when it comes to actual day-per-day planning.  My packing pattern goes something like this:

“I’ll wear these pants, with that shirt BUT I’ll also bring X, Y, Z, and W just in case I change my mind…”

Of course, D would argue that I should have plenty of space since my pants and about 3/4 the size of his and you can get about 6 pairs of my underwear in the space of one pair of his… and he’s right. hah.  But then there is the shoe thing, and last year I felt like I didn’t bring enough dress clothes.

We are actually planning to take three suitcases but one is going to serve as a Gift Repository, or GR.  The GR this year is my medium-sized luggage and we’ll use it to bring some gifts we have bought here, mainly consumables and a few souvenirs, and then use it again to bring back whatever we receive.  I was going to include a photo of the goodies but D just said “What?!?!”  So the contents will remain a mystery for now.

Contents unknown, muwahaha

Contents unknown, muwahaha

Written by Kat

December 14, 2008 at 1:12 pm

Posted in family, Fun, holidays, Travel

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Um, trust me, there will be snow. In fact it’s snowing AGAIN right now. We already have over a foot of snow in most parts and more in the forecast for the rest of the week. If you’re coming to Montreal at all, be prepared for unplowed streets and sidewalks. The city is being an immature child over snow clearing again this year.

    Cat

    December 14, 2008 at 1:53 pm


Leave a Reply

