KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Catch up and birthdays

with 2 comments

Happy End of January! Is summer around the corner yet?! I am trying to look on the bright side and to think of advantages on a  cold winter afternoon:

  • I did just take a toasty nap on the couch
  • Curling up with a good book sounds just fine

That’ll have to do for now but I’d happily trade my jacket(s) for a sun dress at the drop of a hat.  Ooh, and sandals!

Things have been pretty good coming back from the holidays.  I felt a definite relief coming back to our apartment, which is a sign that a place has become home, even if we know we aren’t going to be home here forever.   D and I have much to figure out this year regarding just this.  The local branch of the company we work for would like us to continue here after our contract is over in May.  If we continued, we would have an open contract, meaning we could decide when we wanted to return to N. America (which would most likely be either to Florida or Montreal).   Negotiations are on-going.  Of course we are trying to figure out what is the smartest move, what would make us happiest long term, and what we can handle in the short term.   Figuring out what we should do, just like everyone else.  Work hasn’t been crazy yet this year, though I do think crazy will be coming around March, for a bit.

In other news, we celebrated my birthday yesterday with dinner out.  Around 7 p.m. we walked to the Greek place we like and ordered the calamari, followed by lamb fillet – was awesome as always.  Then we had cake:

And I received some beautiful jewelry – a matching necklace, bracelet and earrings in a silver-bar theme.  So pretty!

Entertainment wise, we have been watching old seasons of How I met your mother. I recommend it.  It reminds both of us of Friends but different.  There are 5 friends, not 6, and they hang out at a bar instead of a cafe.   Anyway, it’s pretty good.  We’ve also been watching the new episodes of 24 and LostLost continues to be as wacky as ever, though at least now it feels like most of the “island’s big secrets” are somewhat out of the bag.  24 seems like every other season of 24 – which isn’t a bad thing, but definitely isn’t “completely different” this year as it was advertised at the end of last season.

I have some photos to organize and post – I guess these are good things to do on a winter afternoon too, so there.

Written by Kat

January 25, 2009 at 5:58 pm

Posted in holidays, Life, tv, Work

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My brother gave me the first three seasons of how I met your mother.. I might convert them for my ipod to start watching on the plane.

    It’s hard to decide what’s going to make you happy in the future.. but exciting at the same time to plan. Good luck figuring out what to do 🙂

    maja

    January 26, 2009 at 3:49 am

  2. Warm weather can’t arrive soon enough to suit me…I’m definitely tired of the cold. On the bright side, I can’t believe it’s almost February! Time is going so fast…

    Happy birthday! That’s a great picture. You’re adorable. 🙂

    Zandria

    January 28, 2009 at 3:25 pm


Leave a Reply

