KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Drive by

with one comment

So I had this great idea for a post, or so I thought.  When I started to gather “sources”, more and more questions popped up, and more and more it felt like I was back in my research paper days.  Many links have been collected, but I need more time to think about where I was going with it all.

I’m getting my share of documentation at work this week too.  Getting put on a project where you need to immediately start creating documentation, with about 50 new acronyms, can be ouchie.  The first week I was just hoping that someone didn’t find a clever way to quiz me because my guesses were wrong about 50% of the time.   Last week I got to go on my first “field trip” since we came over here.  I flew to Rome late last Wednesday and returned the following evening.

Some  highlights:

I did not see anything.  I knew I didn’t have any sight-seeing time but well, thought maybe we’d pass a ruin from a road, maybe.  It was rainy too.  By the time we got to the airport after the meeting, I begged off from my co-worker, found the nearest ladies room, and got out of my leather heels.  They were killing me.

In not completely unrelated news,  I find it an amusing and strange coincidence that for the last 3 weeks, I’ve had a doctor’s appointments and for every one of the last 3 weeks I’ve had to tell a manager that I can do x,y,zwhatever-they-want but that I have a doctor’s appointment at a certain time.  Six months ago I only had one person asking me for things and having a doctor’s appointment would have gone unnoticed, not that I had any.  Now?  I am sure at least one of the co-workers sitting nearby thinks I’m sick or a hypochondriac.

I haven’t told many people at work yet.  Just a couple of close friends and some managers.  The guys that do know, well they are funny.  It alternates between feeling like I have a life-threatening condition with the pointed How are you feeling?’s and talking about the pregnancy like it’s a highly classified project. Our one friend, who has a 1.5 yr-old, will do this thing where he looks both ways to check if the coast is clear, and then launches into a discussion about cloth versus disposable diapers or about German trash pick-up.  It’s all fun.

I have finally been catching up on some reading and review writing.  Over on my book blog you can find some new posts, and there’s more coming soon.  By far, my most favorite novel of at least the last 6 months, and you can safely read my non-spoiler review of it, was The Hunger Games.  Stephenie Meyer (author of Twilight) promoted this book, and it got a bunch of press last year, but seriously, it’s a great read, and it’s a book I’d recommend to the occasional or the voracious reader.  I also have recently  reviewed The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and Inkheart.

Written by Kat

March 12, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t even stand to be in heels unless there is lots of sitting down. I went to a funeral this morning and wore flat shoes, but afterwards I bought some trainers in the city and changed into them in the street, I couldn’t stand the dress shoes any longer.

    maja

    March 13, 2009 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

