KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

March est fini finalment

with 2 comments

I’m sure my French was incorrect there.  By the way, I’ve been slacking on posts for a few reasons.  One is that I need to spend more time working on my French, vraiment.  I’ll never be able to keep up with the bébé, but I’ve got to start somewhere.  The other reasons, of course, is a combination of a lot of work and other distractions. And by distractions, I mostly blame the forums at babycenter.com.  Serious drama going on in the birth clubs  over there.

Way back in January I said March was going to be a crazy month for work.  My prediction was correct; crazy aptly described March ’09.  It wasn’t the worst D and I have seen, but it was long and with too much travel.  We both got to go to Milan last week for some meetings though, so that was cool.  It was put together on short notice, with some chaotic planning.   I’m relieved it went well but we stayed near the airport and relied on the hotel shuttle for transportation, so again, no sight-seeing.

Culture value of the trip?  Slightly better than my one day in Rome.  In both places many buildings and houses were painted in warm hues – browns, yellows, corals.   Alternately,  all taxis around Milan seem to be white.  We ate both days at the cafeteria of the company we were visiting, and while I’m sure this will promote the stereotype – the pasta was awesome.  Really, really good.  Not over-cooked, well oiled, well sauced.  MMmm. Makes the spaghetti mush they serve at our own cafe  embarrassingly bad.

The one night we didn’t have travel we walked not far from the hotel (once we were headed in the right direction) to a local pizzeria called Nel Buco Del Mulo, which I think means “the hole in the mule.”  When I asked a guy from work who speaks Italian if this meant something dirty he said “what isn’t a dirty phrase in Italian?”  The restaurant decor reminded me of Mexican restaurants found in N. America.  Everyone ordered pizza or calzones except D, who ordered lasagna.  They served his lasagna after our salads but about 25 minutes before they brought out the the rest so we aren’t sure if the service was just random or if he ordered an appetizer.  It certainly didn’t seem like an appetizer on the menu but Italians do the pasta first course thing so it remains a mystery.  The pizzas were okay, I ordered one with rucola and sausage – it was pretty good but not outstanding.

This last weekend we didn’t do much besides a little shopping and relaxing.  I’ve turned into quite the Sunday afternoon napper of late.  We also got caught up on Lost, House, OTH and Gossip Girl.

Here’s to hoping for a more even April.  And if I don’t post more this week, Happy Easter to everyone!

Written by Kat

April 7, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Posted in Travel, Uncategorized, Work

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm, maybe this is a dumb questions, but are you guys moving to france?

    maja

    April 12, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    • Haha. Nope, but my dear boyfriend is French-Canadian, and ALL his family speaks français. 🙂

      Kat

      April 17, 2009 at 4:24 pm


Leave a Reply

