KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Half!

with 2 comments

Friday marked the halfway mark.  Can you believe it?

This time is flying by and I know we’re supposed to be enjoying it.   Mostly we have been.

I guess I could have posted more by now but I don’t want to go to baby-crazy on this blog.  At least not yet!  Many reasons…  but I will try to walk the line and post a little more often now we’re getting closer and closer.  Of course now that I’m actually sitting down to write a post the realization is that I could easily make this one post into a short novel.

The halfway mark means we’re roughly 4.5 months pregnant.  Or 20 weeks, in the 20/40 weeks total schedule.  Or 18 weeks in the 18/38 weeks schedule.

18 or 20 weeks? Yes, yes, as I found out after being confused early on, there are different standards for measuring your gestational progress.  Basically it is a matter of when you start counting the weeks. Either from the time you last knew you weren’t pregnant (40 weeks schedule) or from the actual estimated conception date (38 week schedule). Most doctors and web resources use the 40 week standard.

Of course saying we’re halfway is just an estimate – a friend from high school just had her first baby about 4 weeks early eek!!, on April 10th instead of May 5th.  I say Eek!! because I can totally picture D and I putting up the crib on the day before our EDD [Estimated Due Date].  Actually that the night before, hehe.

A brief rundown of the first half:

  • Weeks 5 – 10 Bouts of nausea but nothing to where I physically lost my meals.  Wheat thins and crackers, or bland food in general, seemed to help, but I was lucky it was very minor.
  • Weeks 5 – 12 Tired.  It’s a strange tired that was hard to actually pin point.  I just didn’t feel like doing anything.  After the fact I realized how bad it actually was.
  • Week 13 NT scan showed very low risk for genetic problems. The ultrasound screening was much longer than we expected and showed us many parts of the baby.
  • Week 15 Gained 5.5 lbs by this point.  Definitely feeling more energy and the effects of more blood in my body.
  • Week 17  First noticeable baby movement? Around this time I began feeling something that felt more like a fish swishing around but definitely a new feeling.
  • Week 18-ish Regular work pants and jeans not really fitting anymore, unless worn unbuttoned.  Maternity pants fit me well and I think they’re kinda cute.

  • Week 20 Halfway!

Looking back at the first 4 months I would say one of the biggest changes is mental. This has led us to learn quite a bit more about things we never had to think about before.  What did parents  do before the internet?  Of course for me, pregnancy has meant my body is changing.  During pregnancy, the body starts to produce about 50% extra blood.   As all women are recommended, I take prenatal vitamins that provide extra iron and folic acid, and I also take a DHA supplement, which is a omega-3 essential fatty acid good for fetal eye and brain development, so they say.  See the giant box:

Pregnancy symptoms I’ve had that match everything you’ve ever heard:

  • Morning sickness varies greatly but saltines do help.
  • Tiredness, especially in the first trimester. Yep, yep, yep.
  • Having to pee every 5 minutes.  Ok, not every 5 minutes.  At first I didn’t notice a change in frequency but as time goes on it has become more obvious, and annoying.
  • Getting hot easily.  Especially true doing cardio.

Pregnancy symptoms we’ve all heard but I’ve never had:

  • Pickles and ice cream or other weird cravings haven’t happened to me yet.  I do crave protein and fat.  And I’ve recently decided I really like that bread with raisins in it for toast.
  • I have not asked D to leave the house at midnight for food.  Sometimes I drink milk around 11 because dinner was not quite enough..
  • Don’t wake up in the middle of the night to pee.  But I do go first thing in the a.m.
  • In the same vein, I have no trouble sleeping at night.
  • I’m not overly moody or emotional so far.

Pregnancy symptoms I’ve had but never heard about:

  • Bloody noses. Gross but true. Never big ones but that extra blood definitely has some side effects.
  • Lightheaded when standing up too fast.
  • Extra thirsty.  Is this well known?  I drink lots more water now.
  • Obsessing over baby gear.  This is kind of a fun side effect though –  so much to consider, safety, convenience, looks, etc…

Still to come is finding out the gender.  We still do not know!(?!?!)  It is little frustrating since we have gotten more ultrasounds here in Germany than we ever would have received in the US or Canada, but they are mostly very short and just for the doctor to check that all is well. The NT scan we did at roughly 13 weeks was longer and fascinating but did not give us any gender news, only a guess.  Hopefully we find out this week on Wednesday.

We’re definitely excited.  It’s  pretty amazing, this baby business.

Written by Kat

April 19, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Posted in bebe baby

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You should just go ahead and make it a baby-crazy blog. It’s the most exciting thing going on in your life right now. What’s your guess on the gender?

    Jenn

    April 20, 2009 at 12:56 am

  2. Yay baby blog!

    maja

    April 26, 2009 at 3:59 pm


Leave a Reply

