KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Let me entertain you

with 3 comments

At 1 month entertaining baby A mostly involved bouncing her around and letting her look at the dart board or bright lights.  Luckily (for me and D), this past week she also seems to enjoy it more when we read to her.  Unlucky for us, we only have a few books so far.  I am expecting some packages this week to rectify the situation.

For English baby books I knew a few we should get and asked around for a few more, for the French, I was clueless and relied more on reviews:

Oh! As I’m writing this, the door buzzed, and yay, we have the first arrivals! This will be a twitterish blog post:

And

Oh right, now I remember.  I ordered  Room on the Broom in the big book format because a couple of months ago I bought Eric Carle’s Caterpillar book and when I got it, it was smallish and a little hard to turn the flaps.  Eek, this one is definitely BIG.

Yay, now I have to wait for her to wake up so we can look at them together!

Update*****

She woke up, ate, got changed, did some playing and then we read Brown Bear, Brown Bear and Room on the Broom.  I like Brown Bear quite alot; the text is a simple in a good way, and the pictures are bold and colorful but also simple in a good way.  Room on the Broom is funny and also has great illustrations, but the size of the book is ridiculous (my fault).

It will be a long time before she can read this book by herself.

Written by Kat

November 12, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Posted in bebe baby, Books

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haha…I like the photo of the book vis-a-vis the baby. Nice way of showing just how big the book really is

    Eric Carle is always a good choice for books. My daughter also enjoys the Spot series a lot

    Nish

    November 13, 2009 at 3:18 am

  2. Pat the Bunny and Goodnight Moon are my two Must! Have! books for people with little ones! My family always gifts those to those we know who have a baby. My mother makes sure every newborn she knows has Pat the Bunny! 😉 I make sure they have Goodnight Moon, I think that is my most favourite book of all time.

    You should use that Room on the Broom book to chart her growth. 😉

    Cat

    November 29, 2009 at 5:24 pm

  3. very good book list. We also loooove “barnyard dance” by Sandra Boynton. So much fun

    baroquebabies

    December 7, 2009 at 8:24 pm


Leave a Reply

