KathyBou’s Blog

A sampling of things that are going on and around.

Catching Fire

leave a comment »

At one point I was updating a book blog, but I’ve run out of energy and time for now so  my must-talk-about-this-book-or-implode posts can just go here.

I’m finally reading Catching Fire, though a bit ahead of schedule since I said wouldn’t buy the hardcover.  One of my sisters  did buy it, and even think to send it along with my mother,  so yay for me!

This is the second book in the new, but very popular, trilogy by Suzanne Collins.  While recommending this series to the Harry Potter, Twilight loving set, I’d also recommend it to most everyone.  To me it’s like a literary popcorn night, by which I mean it’s engrossing, exciting and takes you some place else for a bit.  Sometimes that is exactly what you are looking for a in a novel.

The Hunger Games, the first in the series, sets the stage: in a future where the US no longer exists, there is still one rich “district” and many more which are poor.  Two teens from each poor district are pseudo-randomly picked to play in a nationally televised reality TV show – a fight to the death until only one remains.  So maybe how you first imagined Survivor to be before you watched an episode.

I won’t go into any more details here but it’s been over a year since I raced through the first, and so far the second is just as fast-paced and addictive.   I bet there is already talk of making them into movies so go read these now!

The Hunger Games

Catching Fire

Mockingjay due to be released Aug. 24, 2010

Written by Kat

March 29, 2010 at 9:00 am

Posted in Books, Fun

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

